In July 2019, the New South Wales Jewish Board of Deputies established a working group comprising the President, Rabbi Marcus Solomon QC, Mr Phillip Stern and Ms Jacquie Seemann Charak (Working Group) to make recommendations to the Sydney Beth Din (SBD) on meaningful reform of the SBD in matters of: governance; complaints; disqualification (for misconduct) of dayanim; rules of practice and procedure, and to report to the Board.

The aim of the Working Group is to assist the Sydney Beth Din with its own internal review to ensure ongoing compliance with Australian law and meet the highest standards of natural justice and procedural fairness, while at the same time remaining faithful to the halachic rules and principles governing civil dispute resolution.

As part of its deliberations, the Working Group invites members of the Jewish community to make a written a submission to the working group on any of the matters in bold above to:

NSW Jewish Board of Deputies
Attn: Sydney Beth Din Submissions
Level 2, 146 Darlinghurst Road, Darlinghurst, 2010
OR email:[email protected]

Submissions close: 1:00pm Monday January 13, 2020.

Submissions considered by the Working Group but will not be made public.

Melissa McCurdie
Honorary Secretary